Jamaica's future - PM hails youth awardees

Fifty-two young Jamaicans across 12 key categories walked away with the prestigious Prime Minister's Youth Awards for Excellence last Saturday.

The awards ceremony, organised by the Ministry of Education, Youth and Information, was held on the lawns of Jamaica House in St Andrew.

Prime Minister Andrew Holness presented the awards to the awardees, who were honoured for excellence in academics, arts and culture, entrepreneurship and social enterprise, leadership, international achievement, sports, youth in service, youth development, environmental protection, innovation in science and technology, agriculture and agro-processing, and journalism.

In saluting the the nominees and the awardees, Holness said he was beaming with pride in celebrating with them for their accomplishments.

"Our society relies heavily on the skills and ability of our young people. You are the movers and shakers of tomorrow; the innovators, thinkers, artistes, academicians, environmental champions, entrepreneurs, agriculturalists, sportsmen and women. You are the curators of a prosperous Jamaica, and as a country, we have a duty to support you, to facilitate you, and to invest in you.

"You are the engineers of an even brighter future for Jamaica," declared Holness.

The prime minister said his administration believes in the creativity of youth and their capacity to self-actualise and is crafting policy and implementing strategies for youth to flourish irrespective of their backgrounds.

The Prime Minister's National Youth Awards for Excellence was reintroduced in 2017 after a three-year break.

2018 Prime Minister's National Youth Awards for Excellence Awardees

National building

• Amoya Atkins

• Andre Witter

• Antonette Dennis

• Charlene Dixon

• Chavan Nelson

• Chelsea Wright

• Christopher Harper

• Demar Demontagnac

• Jenine Shepherd

• Kadia-Vaseel Rowe

• Kymara Robinson

• Latoya Wakefield

• Lovina Shaw

• Melissa Mills

• Monique Hope

• Nakadian Jones

• Romario Simpson

• Sasha Henry

• Stephen Blake

• Vanessa Fennell


• Trecia Williams

• Jervian Johnson

• Camir Ricketts

• Jelani Munroe


• Jean Paul Bramwell

Arts and Culture

• Donald Mirander

• Saccheen Laing

Entrepreneurship and Social Enterprise

• Shawneil Bailey

• Deaf Can Coffee

Environment Protection

• Eleanor Terrelonge

Innovation in Science and Technology

• Aldeam Facey

• Phylicia Ricketts

International Achievement

• Davina Bennett

• Shaekagale Williams


• Giovanni Dennis

• Syranno Baines

• Vashan Brown

• Abka Fitz Henley


• Sophia Bryan

• Withney Smith

• Christina Hudson

• Kellesia Ebanks


Omar McLeod

• Briana Williams

• Andre Blake

• Caitlin Chang

• Khadija Shaw

• Chris Binnie

• Fedrick Dacres

• Mikel Facey

Youth Development

Kimberly Sherlock

• Steven McCubbin

Comments (0)

Post a Comment
* Your Name:
* Your Email:
(not publicly displayed)
* Security Image:
Security Image Generate new
Copy the numbers and letters from the security image:
* Message:

Email to Friend

Fill in the form below to send this news item to a friend:

Email to Friend
* Your Name:
* Your Email:
* Friend's Name:
* Friend's Email:
* Security Image:
Security Image Generate new
Copy the numbers and letters from the security image
* Message: