Walker Cup finalists have a lot in common

One thing that will be common among all the coaches in today's ISSA Walker Cup final, scheduled for the Stadium East field at 4 p.m., is they have all either attended or worked at Excelsior High School.

Lebert Halliman, a former student and coach at Excelsior is now the technical director of Hydel, while both coaches, Hydel's Corey Bennett and Excelsior's Daniel Riley also attended the school and played for the institution. Hydel's assistant coach Karumie Huie, also worked with Halliman at Excelsior as his assistant.

Riley, who also worked as Halliman's assistant during his time at Excelsior, says the fact that the coaches know each other so well will make it an interesting encounter.

"It's one that we look forward to and it's one that we really wanted. We wanted to really play Hydel. It's going to be a good showdown. Mr Halliman, big up yourself but we are coming for this one," he commented.

"We all came out of the same school and we all worked together over the years. So we all know what we are about and we know how each prepares themselves and what they put into games," he added.

His counterpart, Bennett, also predicted that it will be an interesting contest but his team is eager to give the school its first school boy football title.

"This game is going to have a lot of meaning to it. Both coaches spent a lot of time there (Excelsior), and particularly coach Halliman who won titles there. So I guess he will get some level of criticism as an Excelsior old student. Nevertheless when we come to play, we come to play and we are ready for anybody," he stated

"We are in the final and we give God thanks but there is going to be pressure. These boys have been coming from Pepsi (Under-13) and Colts (Under-16) and they haven't won anything. They haven't been to a final. The last time we went to a final was the 2012 Manning Cup final. But we are thankful to here in a final and we are ready for who comes," he said.

Hydel will look to leading scorer Kemar Reid, goalkeeper Shaquan Davis and Javaughn Barclay and Jordane Cameron. For Excelsior the key players are Rohan Beadle, Damorney Hutchinson, Kareem Williams Shawn Daley and Alinton Frankson.


Last 10 Walker Cup winners


• 2008 - Excelsior

• 2009 - Jamaica College

• 2010 - Jamaica College

• 2011 - St George's College

• 2012 - Wolmer's Boys

• 2013 - Wolmer's Boys

• 2014 - St George's College

• 2015 - Wolmer's Boys

• 2016 - Kingston College

• 2017 - Jamaica College

Comments (0)

Post a Comment
* Your Name:
* Your Email:
(not publicly displayed)
* Security Image:
Security Image Generate new
Copy the numbers and letters from the security image:
* Message: